Atlas vs Safari

We make Yab, the third column.facts checked Oct 9 ↓

ChatGPT Atlas was OpenAI’s Chromium browser for the Mac, with ChatGPT beside every page and an agent mode. OpenAI shut it down on August 9, 2026, and points people to the ChatGPT desktop app and its Chrome extension.

Safari is Apple’s browser for Mac, iPhone and iPad, on WebKit, with Apple Intelligence for summaries and tab topics. Safari 27 also lets outside agents like Claude Code drive it over MCP.

The short answer

AtlasShut down
  • OpenAI shut Atlas down on August 9, 2026: it may not open, runs no agent tasks and gets no security updates
Pick Safari
  • if you use a Mac and an iPhone and want your tabs and passwords on both
  • if you want AI that runs on your Mac or on Apple’s Private Cloud Compute
  • if you build sites and want Claude Code or Codex to test them in WebKit
Or Yabours
  • if you miss Arc and want spaces, pins and folders kept, on a Mac
  • if you already pay for Claude or ChatGPT and want it to work in your signed-in tabs
  • if you want Claude Code, Codex or Cursor to drive a real browser over MCP

At a glance

Atlas and Safari, with Yab beside them for a Mac.

Atlas vs Safari
WhatChatGPT AtlasSafariYab
Made byOpenAIAppleSerafim Korablev
StatusShut down August 9, 2026UpdatedUpdated
Runs onMacMac and iPhoneMac
Phone appNone; Atlas was Mac only and shut down on Aug 9, 2026Built into iPhone and iPad; syncs tabs, bookmarks, history and passwords via iCloudNot yet
PriceShut down; it was free, with agent mode on paid ChatGPT plansFree with macOS; Apple Intelligence is free on Macs with M1 or laterFree; its AI runs on your own Claude or ChatGPT plan
AIAn agent that works in pages, on its own AI serviceChat about pages, on its own AI serviceAn agent that works in pages, on your Claude or ChatGPT plan
Driven by outside agentsNoMCPMCP and a command line
EngineChromiumWebKitWebKit
Tabs down the sideA settingNoYes
SpacesNot statedYesYes
Split ViewNot statedNoYes
ExtensionsChrome Web StoreSafari’s, from the App StoreChrome Web Store
Ad blockerNot statedNoBuilt in
Open sourceNoNoNo

Checked October 9, 2026 on each maker’s own pages, linked under Sources. Prices are per month, in US dollars.

Where they differ

What separates them, area by area. Where one plainly has more, it says who; where it comes down to taste, it says so.

AIAtlas leads

Only Atlas has an agent that clicks, types and finishes tasks in your pages. Atlas put ChatGPT beside every page, with optional browser memories and, on paid plans, an agent mode; it no longer works. Apple Intelligence sums up pages, sorts tabs into topics and watches a page for price drops, and the Passwords app can change weak passwords for you; no agent that works through sites.

Agents like Claude Code and CodexSafari leads

Atlas has no MCP server or command line for outside agents. Safari can be driven over MCP, through safaridriver --mcp in Safari 27, once you allow remote automation and outside agents.

Tabs and windowsAtlas leads

Atlas has tabs down the side as a setting and folders in the sidebar. Safari has spaces.

PriceSafari leads

Atlas: Shut down; it was free, with agent mode on paid ChatGPT plans. Safari: Free with macOS; Apple Intelligence is free on Macs with M1 or later.

Where it runsSafari leads

Atlas runs on Mac. Safari runs on Mac and iPhone. On a Mac, Atlas needs macOS 14.2 or later and Safari needs macOS 15 or later. Atlas has no phone app: Atlas was Mac only and shut down on Aug 9, 2026. On the phone, Safari: built into iPhone and iPad; syncs tabs, bookmarks, history and passwords via iCloud.

Engine and extensionsa matter of taste

Atlas is built on Chromium, as Chrome is; Safari on WebKit, the engine Safari uses. Atlas takes extensions from the Chrome Web Store, Safari from the App Store, as Safari extensions.

Privacyeven

Neither has an ad blocker of its own. Atlas summed up pages for browser memories and deleted the originals; training on browsing was off by default. Apple Intelligence runs on the Mac or on Private Cloud Compute, which Apple says doesn’t store what you ask or make it accessible to Apple.

UpdatesSafari leads

Atlas: OpenAI shut Atlas down on August 9, 2026: it may not open, runs no agent tasks and gets no security updates. Safari is updated as usual.

What their pages don’t lead with

Real limits, from the makers’ own words and our own use.

ChatGPT Atlas

  • Shut down on August 9, 2026, with no more security updates
  • Was Mac only, on Apple silicon
  • Bookmarks, tabs and history had to be exported by hand
  • Agent mode needed a paid ChatGPT plan

Safari

  • Apple devices only
  • Tabs only across the top, and no Split View of two tabs
  • Extensions only from the App Store, in Safari’s format
  • Its AI needs a Mac with M1 or later and macOS 27

Yab, honestly

  • Mac only: macOS 15.4 or later, no Windows, iPhone or Android
  • New: first released in September 2026
  • Its AI needs a Claude or ChatGPT plan; ChatGPT’s free plan may work with low limits
  • WebKit, as in Safari: a site tested only in Chrome can misbehave
  • Closed source

What changed lately

  • September 17, 2026Safari: Apple documented Safari 27’s MCP server for outside AI agents
  • September 14, 2026Safari: Safari 27 shipped with AI tab topics, Notify Me and Describe an Extension
  • August 9, 2026Atlas: Atlas shut down
  • July 9, 2026Atlas: OpenAI said it will sunset Atlas for the new ChatGPT desktop app
  • October 21, 2025Atlas: Launched for macOS

Questions

Is ChatGPT Atlas free?

It no longer works. Shut down; it was free, with agent mode on paid ChatGPT plans.

Is Safari free?

Yes. Free with macOS; Apple Intelligence is free on Macs with M1 or later.

Which has an AI agent, Atlas or Safari?

Atlas. Atlas put ChatGPT beside every page, with optional browser memories and, on paid plans, an agent mode; it no longer works. Apple Intelligence sums up pages, sorts tabs into topics and watches a page for price drops, and the Passwords app can change weak passwords for you; no agent that works through sites.

Which runs on Windows, Atlas or Safari?

Neither. Atlas runs on Mac; Safari on Mac and iPhone.

Do Atlas and Safari have phone apps?

Safari does. Atlas has no phone app: Atlas was Mac only and shut down on Aug 9, 2026. On the phone, Safari: built into iPhone and iPad; syncs tabs, bookmarks, history and passwords via iCloud.

Can I move from Safari to Atlas?

Yes: Atlas’s own help says it brings in from Safari.

Is ChatGPT Atlas shut down?

OpenAI shut Atlas down on August 9, 2026: it may not open, runs no agent tasks and gets no security updates.

Is there a third option on a Mac?

Yab, Yet Another Browser, is free for the Mac: tabs down the side with spaces, folders and Split View, as in Safari; an agent in your signed-in tabs like Atlas’s, on the Claude or ChatGPT plan you already pay for. Claude Code, Codex and any MCP client can drive it too. It runs on WebKit, the engine Safari uses, and takes Chrome extensions. It is Mac only, and new.

More comparisons

Sources, read October 9, 2026. Something out of date? Write to hello@serafimlabs.io and we fix it.

Yab, Yet Another Browser.

Free for the Mac. Arc’s sidebar, your own Claude or ChatGPT as the agent, Chrome extensions on WebKit.