Aside vs Atlas

We make Yab, the third column.facts checked Oct 9 ↓

Aside is an AI agent browser from a Y Combinator startup, on Chromium, for Mac and Windows. Its agent does multi-step work in the sites you are signed in to, on Aside’s own models or your ChatGPT or Claude plan.

ChatGPT Atlas was OpenAI’s Chromium browser for the Mac, with ChatGPT beside every page and an agent mode. OpenAI shut it down on August 9, 2026, and points people to the ChatGPT desktop app and its Chrome extension.

Atlas shut down on August 9, 2026. Aside does what its agent mode did, multi-step work in your signed-in sites, on Mac and Windows, and can run on your own ChatGPT plan.

The short answer

Pick Aside
  • if you want an agent for multi-step work across your signed-in sites, on Mac or Windows
  • if you want a free plan with AI credits, or to bring your ChatGPT or Claude plan
  • if you want Claude Code or Codex to drive it over MCP or its command line
AtlasShut down
  • OpenAI shut Atlas down on August 9, 2026: it may not open, runs no agent tasks and gets no security updates
Or Yabours
  • if you miss Arc and want spaces, pins and folders kept, on a Mac
  • if you already pay for Claude or ChatGPT and want it to work in your signed-in tabs
  • if you want Claude Code, Codex or Cursor to drive a real browser over MCP

At a glance

Aside and Atlas, with Yab beside them for a Mac.

Aside vs Atlas
WhatAsideChatGPT AtlasYab
Made byAside Computer Inc. (YC Fall 2025)OpenAISerafim Korablev
StatusUpdatedShut down August 9, 2026Updated
Runs onMac and WindowsMacMac
Phone appNone yet; an iPhone app is in the works. Pro runs its agent from Slack or TelegramNone; Atlas was Mac only and shut down on Aug 9, 2026Not yet
PriceFree with 500 AI credits a month; Pro $20/month; Max $200/month; or your own ChatGPT or Claude planShut down; it was free, with agent mode on paid ChatGPT plansFree; its AI runs on your own Claude or ChatGPT plan
AIAn agent that works in pages, on its own AI or yoursAn agent that works in pages, on its own AI serviceAn agent that works in pages, on your Claude or ChatGPT plan
Driven by outside agentsMCP and a command lineNoMCP and a command line
EngineChromiumChromiumWebKit
Tabs down the sideYesA settingYes
SpacesYesNot statedYes
Split ViewYesNot statedYes
ExtensionsChrome Web StoreChrome Web StoreChrome Web Store
Ad blockerBuilt inNot statedBuilt in
Open sourceNoNoNo

Checked October 9, 2026 on each maker’s own pages, linked under Sources. Prices are per month, in US dollars.

Where they differ

What separates them, area by area. Where one plainly has more, it says who; where it comes down to taste, it says so.

AIa matter of taste

Both have an agent that works in your pages. Aside’s agent runs multi-step tasks in your signed-in sites, signs in from its own password vault without seeing the passwords, and asks before payments, posts and messages. Atlas put ChatGPT beside every page, with optional browser memories and, on paid plans, an agent mode; it no longer works.

Agents like Claude Code and CodexAside leads

Aside can be driven over MCP and a command line, through the aside command line, with aside mcp as its MCP server. Atlas has no MCP server or command line for outside agents.

Tabs and windowsAside leads

Aside has tabs down the side, spaces, Split View, folders in the sidebar and tabs that sleep. Atlas has tabs down the side as a setting and folders in the sidebar.

PriceAside leads

Aside: Free with 500 AI credits a month; Pro $20/month; Max $200/month; or your own ChatGPT or Claude plan. Atlas: Shut down; it was free, with agent mode on paid ChatGPT plans.

Where it runsAside leads

Aside runs on Mac and Windows. Atlas runs on Mac. On a Mac, Aside needs macOS 15 or later and Atlas needs macOS 14.2 or later. Aside has no phone app yet: an iPhone app is in the works. Pro runs its agent from Slack or Telegram. Atlas has no phone app: Atlas was Mac only and shut down on Aug 9, 2026.

Engine and extensionsa matter of taste

Both are built on Chromium, as Chrome is, so sites work as they do in Chrome. Both take extensions from the Chrome Web Store.

PrivacyAside leads

Aside has an ad blocker built in. Aside keeps task transcripts and files on your Mac; model providers get the prompts, page snapshots and screenshots a task needs, and analytics sharing is on by default. Atlas has no ad blocker of its own. Atlas summed up pages for browser memories and deleted the originals; training on browsing was off by default.

UpdatesAside leads

Aside is updated as usual. Atlas: OpenAI shut Atlas down on August 9, 2026: it may not open, runs no agent tasks and gets no security updates.

What their pages don’t lead with

Real limits, from the makers’ own words and our own use.

Aside

  • The free plan has 500 AI credits a month; more is Pro at $20 or Max at $200
  • Mac (macOS 15 or later) and Windows only, no phone apps
  • Young: first released in February 2026, on Windows since September 2026
  • Agents may use your saved passwords unless you change the default

ChatGPT Atlas

  • Shut down on August 9, 2026, with no more security updates
  • Was Mac only, on Apple silicon
  • Bookmarks, tabs and history had to be exported by hand
  • Agent mode needed a paid ChatGPT plan

Yab, honestly

  • Mac only: macOS 15.4 or later, no Windows, iPhone or Android
  • New: first released in September 2026
  • Its AI needs a Claude or ChatGPT plan; ChatGPT’s free plan may work with low limits
  • WebKit, as in Safari: a site tested only in Chrome can misbehave
  • Closed source

What changed lately

  • September 21, 2026Aside: Ad blocking with default filter lists turned on during setup
  • September 14, 2026Aside: Windows version officially available (release 1.0.914.1)
  • August 9, 2026Atlas: Atlas shut down
  • July 9, 2026Atlas: OpenAI said it will sunset Atlas for the new ChatGPT desktop app
  • February 25, 2026Aside: First Aside Browser release for macOS
  • October 21, 2025Atlas: Launched for macOS

Questions

Is Aside free?

Yes, with limits on its AI. Free with 500 AI credits a month; Pro $20/month; Max $200/month; or your own ChatGPT or Claude plan.

Is ChatGPT Atlas free?

It no longer works. Shut down; it was free, with agent mode on paid ChatGPT plans.

Which has an AI agent, Aside or Atlas?

Both. Aside’s agent runs multi-step tasks in your signed-in sites, signs in from its own password vault without seeing the passwords, and asks before payments, posts and messages. Atlas put ChatGPT beside every page, with optional browser memories and, on paid plans, an agent mode; it no longer works.

Which runs on Windows, Aside or Atlas?

Aside does. Atlas runs on Mac.

Do Aside and Atlas have phone apps?

Aside has no phone app yet: an iPhone app is in the works. Pro runs its agent from Slack or Telegram. Atlas has no phone app: Atlas was Mac only and shut down on Aug 9, 2026.

Can I move from Atlas to Aside?

Yes: Aside’s own help says it brings in from Atlas.

Is ChatGPT Atlas shut down?

OpenAI shut Atlas down on August 9, 2026: it may not open, runs no agent tasks and gets no security updates.

Is there a third option on a Mac?

Yab, Yet Another Browser, is free for the Mac: tabs down the side with spaces, folders and Split View, as in Aside; an agent in your signed-in tabs like Aside’s, on the Claude or ChatGPT plan you already pay for. Claude Code, Codex and any MCP client can drive it too. It runs on WebKit, the engine Safari uses, and takes Chrome extensions. It is Mac only, and new.

More comparisons

Sources, read October 9, 2026. Something out of date? Write to hello@serafimlabs.io and we fix it.

Yab, Yet Another Browser.

Free for the Mac. Arc’s sidebar, your own Claude or ChatGPT as the agent, Chrome extensions on WebKit.