Tabbit vs Opera Neon

We make Yab, the third column.facts checked Oct 9 ↓

Tabbit is a free Chromium AI browser for Mac and Windows from Lumina Lab in Singapore, with chat, an agent mode and a choice of many vendors’ models.

Opera Neon is Opera’s agent browser for Mac and Windows. Its own agents act in your live session on a $19.90 plan, and since August 2026 outside agents like Claude Code can use it free through its MCP Connector.

The short answer

Pick Tabbit
  • if you want a free agent browser with a wide choice of models, Chinese ones included
  • if you want the same AI browser on Windows and Mac
  • if you want Codex or Claude Code to use your signed-in sessions through its command line
Pick Opera Neon
  • if you want Claude Code or another MCP client to use a real signed-in browser, free
  • if you want one plan for an in-browser agent, deep research and making apps and media
  • if you want a VPN and an ad blocker built in
Or Yabours
  • if you miss Arc and want spaces, pins and folders kept, on a Mac
  • if you already pay for Claude or ChatGPT and want it to work in your signed-in tabs
  • if you want Claude Code, Codex or Cursor to drive a real browser over MCP

At a glance

Tabbit and Opera Neon, with Yab beside them for a Mac.

Tabbit vs Opera Neon
WhatTabbitOpera NeonYab
Made byLumina Lab (LUMINALAB PTE. LTD., Singapore)OperaSerafim Korablev
StatusUpdatedUpdatedUpdated
Runs onMac and WindowsMac and WindowsMac
Phone appOnly for its Chinese edition, in Chinese; tabbit.ai lists mobile as plannedNone yet; Opera says a mobile version will come, no date givenNot yet
PriceFree with a weekly AI allowance; Pro $30/monthFree, and free for outside agents; Opera’s own agents $19.90/monthFree; its AI runs on your own Claude or ChatGPT plan
AIAn agent that works in pages, on its own AI serviceAn agent that works in pages, on its own AI serviceAn agent that works in pages, on your Claude or ChatGPT plan
Driven by outside agentsa command lineMCP and a command lineMCP and a command line
EngineChromiumChromiumWebKit
Tabs down the sideYesNot statedYes
SpacesNot statedYesYes
Split ViewYesNot statedYes
ExtensionsChrome Web StoreNot statedChrome Web Store
Ad blockerBuilt inBuilt inBuilt in
Open sourceNoNoNo

Checked October 9, 2026 on each maker’s own pages, linked under Sources. Prices are per month, in US dollars.

Where they differ

What separates them, area by area. Where one plainly has more, it says who; where it comes down to taste, it says so.

AIa matter of taste

Both have an agent that works in your pages. Tabbit chats with your tabs, files and screenshots, and its agent mode runs multi-step tasks in tab groups of its own, on GPT, Claude, Gemini, DeepSeek, Kimi, Qwen or GLM. Neon Chat talks about your tabs, Neon Do acts in your live session, research agents dig, and Make builds apps and media on Opera’s servers.

Agents like Claude Code and CodexOpera Neon leads

Tabbit can be driven over a command line, through the Tabbit command line, with a skill for Codex, Claude Code and Cursor. Opera Neon can be driven over MCP and a command line, through its MCP Connector, read-only unless you allow more, and opera-browser-cli.

Tabs and windowsTabbit leads

Tabbit has tabs down the side, Split View and folders in the sidebar. Opera Neon has spaces.

Priceeven

Tabbit: Free with a weekly AI allowance; Pro $30/month. Opera Neon: Free, and free for outside agents; Opera’s own agents $19.90/month.

Where it runseven

Both run on Mac and Windows. On a Mac, Tabbit needs macOS 13 or later. On the phone, Tabbit: only for its Chinese edition, in Chinese; tabbit.ai lists mobile as planned. Opera Neon has no phone app yet: Opera says a mobile version will come, no date given.

Engine and extensionsa matter of taste

Both are built on Chromium, as Chrome is, so sites work as they do in Chrome. Tabbit takes extensions from the Chrome Web Store, Opera Neon none.

PrivacyOpera Neon leads

Tabbit has an ad blocker built in. Tabbit sends prompts and pages you share to the model vendor you pick, on servers in Singapore or your region; its maker says it doesn’t train on your data. Opera Neon has an ad blocker built in and a VPN. Page content used with Neon’s AI goes to Opera’s and OpenAI’s servers, kept up to 365 days; passwords, cards and cookies stay on your device.

What their pages don’t lead with

Real limits, from the makers’ own words and our own use.

Tabbit

  • Top models and heavy agent use need Pro at $30 a month
  • The free AI is a weekly allowance, larger only if Tabbit is your default browser
  • No Linux or phone apps yet
  • No MCP server documented, only its command line

Opera Neon

  • Opera’s own agents need the $19.90 a month plan
  • Mac and Windows only; the phone version isn’t out
  • Its AI and the MCP Connector need an Opera account
  • Page content used with its AI goes to Opera’s and OpenAI’s servers, kept up to 365 days

Yab, honestly

  • Mac only: macOS 15.4 or later, no Windows, iPhone or Android
  • New: first released in September 2026
  • Its AI needs a Claude or ChatGPT plan; ChatGPT’s free plan may work with low limits
  • WebKit, as in Safari: a site tested only in Chrome can misbehave
  • Closed source

What changed lately

  • September 8, 2026Tabbit: Tabbit CLI lets coding agents drive the browser with your logins
  • August 21, 2026Tabbit: Version 1.11 dropped macOS 12; macOS 13 or later required
  • August 12, 2026Opera Neon: Free plan: outside agents can use Neon without a subscription
  • June 9, 2026Tabbit: Version 1.0 released after a 100-day public beta
  • May 12, 2026Opera Neon: opera-browser-cli command line released
  • March 31, 2026Opera Neon: MCP Connector lets outside AI clients act in Neon

Questions

Is Tabbit free?

Yes, with limits on its AI. Free with a weekly AI allowance; Pro $30/month.

Is Opera Neon free?

Yes, with limits on its AI. Free, and free for outside agents; Opera’s own agents $19.90/month.

Which has an AI agent, Tabbit or Opera Neon?

Both. Tabbit chats with your tabs, files and screenshots, and its agent mode runs multi-step tasks in tab groups of its own, on GPT, Claude, Gemini, DeepSeek, Kimi, Qwen or GLM. Neon Chat talks about your tabs, Neon Do acts in your live session, research agents dig, and Make builds apps and media on Opera’s servers.

Do Tabbit and Opera Neon run on Windows?

Yes, both. Tabbit runs on Mac and Windows; Opera Neon on Mac and Windows.

Do Tabbit and Opera Neon have phone apps?

On the phone, Tabbit: only for its Chinese edition, in Chinese; tabbit.ai lists mobile as planned. Opera Neon has no phone app yet: Opera says a mobile version will come, no date given.

Is there a third option on a Mac?

Yab, Yet Another Browser, is free for the Mac: tabs down the side with spaces, folders and Split View, as in Tabbit; an agent in your signed-in tabs like Tabbit’s, on the Claude or ChatGPT plan you already pay for. Claude Code, Codex and any MCP client can drive it too. It runs on WebKit, the engine Safari uses, and takes Chrome extensions. It is Mac only, and new.

More comparisons

Yab, Yet Another Browser.

Free for the Mac. Arc’s sidebar, your own Claude or ChatGPT as the agent, Chrome extensions on WebKit.

it’s freeDownload