Aside vs Opera Neon

We make Yab, the third column.facts checked Oct 9 ↓

Aside is an AI agent browser from a Y Combinator startup, on Chromium, for Mac and Windows. Its agent does multi-step work in the sites you are signed in to, on Aside’s own models or your ChatGPT or Claude plan.

Opera Neon is Opera’s agent browser for Mac and Windows. Its own agents act in your live session on a $19.90 plan, and since August 2026 outside agents like Claude Code can use it free through its MCP Connector.

Both let outside agents in: Aside through aside mcp, Neon through its MCP Connector, free since August 2026. Neon’s own agents cost $19.90 a month; Aside has a free plan with credits, or runs on your own ChatGPT or Claude plan.

The short answer

Pick Aside
  • if you want an agent for multi-step work across your signed-in sites, on Mac or Windows
  • if you want a free plan with AI credits, or to bring your ChatGPT or Claude plan
  • if you want Claude Code or Codex to drive it over MCP or its command line
Pick Opera Neon
  • if you want Claude Code or another MCP client to use a real signed-in browser, free
  • if you want one plan for an in-browser agent, deep research and making apps and media
  • if you want a VPN and an ad blocker built in
Or Yabours
  • if you miss Arc and want spaces, pins and folders kept, on a Mac
  • if you already pay for Claude or ChatGPT and want it to work in your signed-in tabs
  • if you want Claude Code, Codex or Cursor to drive a real browser over MCP

At a glance

Aside and Opera Neon, with Yab beside them for a Mac.

Aside vs Opera Neon
WhatAsideOpera NeonYab
Made byAside Computer Inc. (YC Fall 2025)OperaSerafim Korablev
StatusUpdatedUpdatedUpdated
Runs onMac and WindowsMac and WindowsMac
Phone appNone yet; an iPhone app is in the works. Pro runs its agent from Slack or TelegramNone yet; Opera says a mobile version will come, no date givenNot yet
PriceFree with 500 AI credits a month; Pro $20/month; Max $200/month; or your own ChatGPT or Claude planFree, and free for outside agents; Opera’s own agents $19.90/monthFree; its AI runs on your own Claude or ChatGPT plan
AIAn agent that works in pages, on its own AI or yoursAn agent that works in pages, on its own AI serviceAn agent that works in pages, on your Claude or ChatGPT plan
Driven by outside agentsMCP and a command lineMCP and a command lineMCP and a command line
EngineChromiumChromiumWebKit
Tabs down the sideYesNot statedYes
SpacesYesYesYes
Split ViewYesNot statedYes
ExtensionsChrome Web StoreNot statedChrome Web Store
Ad blockerBuilt inBuilt inBuilt in
Open sourceNoNoNo

Checked October 9, 2026 on each maker’s own pages, linked under Sources. Prices are per month, in US dollars.

Where they differ

What separates them, area by area. Where one plainly has more, it says who; where it comes down to taste, it says so.

AIa matter of taste

Both have an agent that works in your pages. Aside’s agent runs multi-step tasks in your signed-in sites, signs in from its own password vault without seeing the passwords, and asks before payments, posts and messages. Neon Chat talks about your tabs, Neon Do acts in your live session, research agents dig, and Make builds apps and media on Opera’s servers.

Agents like Claude Code and Codexeven

Aside can be driven over MCP and a command line, through the aside command line, with aside mcp as its MCP server. Opera Neon can be driven over MCP and a command line, through its MCP Connector, read-only unless you allow more, and opera-browser-cli.

Tabs and windowsAside leads

Aside has tabs down the side, spaces, Split View, folders in the sidebar and tabs that sleep. Opera Neon has spaces.

Priceeven

Aside: Free with 500 AI credits a month; Pro $20/month; Max $200/month; or your own ChatGPT or Claude plan. Opera Neon: Free, and free for outside agents; Opera’s own agents $19.90/month.

Where it runseven

Both run on Mac and Windows. On a Mac, Aside needs macOS 15 or later. Aside has no phone app yet: an iPhone app is in the works. Pro runs its agent from Slack or Telegram. Opera Neon has no phone app yet: Opera says a mobile version will come, no date given.

Engine and extensionsa matter of taste

Both are built on Chromium, as Chrome is, so sites work as they do in Chrome. Aside takes extensions from the Chrome Web Store, Opera Neon none.

PrivacyOpera Neon leads

Aside has an ad blocker built in. Aside keeps task transcripts and files on your Mac; model providers get the prompts, page snapshots and screenshots a task needs, and analytics sharing is on by default. Opera Neon has an ad blocker built in and a VPN. Page content used with Neon’s AI goes to Opera’s and OpenAI’s servers, kept up to 365 days; passwords, cards and cookies stay on your device.

What their pages don’t lead with

Real limits, from the makers’ own words and our own use.

Aside

  • The free plan has 500 AI credits a month; more is Pro at $20 or Max at $200
  • Mac (macOS 15 or later) and Windows only, no phone apps
  • Young: first released in February 2026, on Windows since September 2026
  • Agents may use your saved passwords unless you change the default

Opera Neon

  • Opera’s own agents need the $19.90 a month plan
  • Mac and Windows only; the phone version isn’t out
  • Its AI and the MCP Connector need an Opera account
  • Page content used with its AI goes to Opera’s and OpenAI’s servers, kept up to 365 days

Yab, honestly

  • Mac only: macOS 15.4 or later, no Windows, iPhone or Android
  • New: first released in September 2026
  • Its AI needs a Claude or ChatGPT plan; ChatGPT’s free plan may work with low limits
  • WebKit, as in Safari: a site tested only in Chrome can misbehave
  • Closed source

What changed lately

  • September 21, 2026Aside: Ad blocking with default filter lists turned on during setup
  • September 14, 2026Aside: Windows version officially available (release 1.0.914.1)
  • August 12, 2026Opera Neon: Free plan: outside agents can use Neon without a subscription
  • May 12, 2026Opera Neon: opera-browser-cli command line released
  • March 31, 2026Opera Neon: MCP Connector lets outside AI clients act in Neon
  • February 25, 2026Aside: First Aside Browser release for macOS

Questions

Is Aside free?

Yes, with limits on its AI. Free with 500 AI credits a month; Pro $20/month; Max $200/month; or your own ChatGPT or Claude plan.

Is Opera Neon free?

Yes, with limits on its AI. Free, and free for outside agents; Opera’s own agents $19.90/month.

Which has an AI agent, Aside or Opera Neon?

Both. Aside’s agent runs multi-step tasks in your signed-in sites, signs in from its own password vault without seeing the passwords, and asks before payments, posts and messages. Neon Chat talks about your tabs, Neon Do acts in your live session, research agents dig, and Make builds apps and media on Opera’s servers.

Do Aside and Opera Neon run on Windows?

Yes, both. Aside runs on Mac and Windows; Opera Neon on Mac and Windows.

Do Aside and Opera Neon have phone apps?

Aside has no phone app yet: an iPhone app is in the works. Pro runs its agent from Slack or Telegram. Opera Neon has no phone app yet: Opera says a mobile version will come, no date given.

Is there a third option on a Mac?

Yab, Yet Another Browser, is free for the Mac: tabs down the side with spaces, folders and Split View, as in Aside; an agent in your signed-in tabs like Aside’s, on the Claude or ChatGPT plan you already pay for. Claude Code, Codex and any MCP client can drive it too. It runs on WebKit, the engine Safari uses, and takes Chrome extensions. It is Mac only, and new.

More comparisons

Sources, read October 9, 2026. Something out of date? Write to hello@serafimlabs.io and we fix it.

Yab, Yet Another Browser.

Free for the Mac. Arc’s sidebar, your own Claude or ChatGPT as the agent, Chrome extensions on WebKit.