Aside vs Comet

We make Yab, the third column.facts checked Oct 9 ↓

Aside is an AI agent browser from a Y Combinator startup, on Chromium, for Mac and Windows. Its agent does multi-step work in the sites you are signed in to, on Aside’s own models or your ChatGPT or Claude plan.

Comet is Perplexity’s free Chromium browser for Mac, Windows, iPhone and Android, with Perplexity’s search and an assistant that can act on pages for you.

Both have agents that act in your signed-in sites. Aside can run on your own ChatGPT or Claude plan and lets Claude Code or Codex drive it over MCP; Comet runs on Perplexity’s AI and is on phones too.

The short answer

Pick Aside
  • if you want an agent for multi-step work across your signed-in sites, on Mac or Windows
  • if you want a free plan with AI credits, or to bring your ChatGPT or Claude plan
  • if you want Claude Code or Codex to drive it over MCP or its command line
Pick Comet
  • if you use Perplexity and want its search and agent in the browser
  • if you want one AI browser on Mac, Windows, iPhone and Android
  • if you want a free Chromium browser with an ad blocker built in
Or Yabours
  • if you miss Arc and want spaces, pins and folders kept, on a Mac
  • if you already pay for Claude or ChatGPT and want it to work in your signed-in tabs
  • if you want Claude Code, Codex or Cursor to drive a real browser over MCP

At a glance

Aside and Comet, with Yab beside them for a Mac.

Aside vs Comet
WhatAsidePerplexity CometYab
Made byAside Computer Inc. (YC Fall 2025)PerplexitySerafim Korablev
StatusUpdatedUpdatedUpdated
Runs onMac and WindowsMac, Windows, iPhone and AndroidMac
Phone appNone yet; an iPhone app is in the works. Pro runs its agent from Slack or TelegramiPhone, iPad and Android; on iPhone it syncs bookmarks and history with desktop CometNot yet
PriceFree with 500 AI credits a month; Pro $20/month; Max $200/month; or your own ChatGPT or Claude planFree; Comet Plus $5/month; Perplexity Pro $20/month or Max $200/month for more AI and agent useFree; its AI runs on your own Claude or ChatGPT plan
AIAn agent that works in pages, on its own AI or yoursAn agent that works in pages, on its own AI serviceAn agent that works in pages, on your Claude or ChatGPT plan
Driven by outside agentsMCP and a command lineNoMCP and a command line
EngineChromiumChromiumWebKit
Tabs down the sideYesNot statedYes
SpacesYesNot statedYes
Split ViewYesYesYes
ExtensionsChrome Web StoreChrome Web StoreChrome Web Store
Ad blockerBuilt inBuilt inBuilt in
Open sourceNoNoNo

Checked October 9, 2026 on each maker’s own pages, linked under Sources. Prices are per month, in US dollars.

Where they differ

What separates them, area by area. Where one plainly has more, it says who; where it comes down to taste, it says so.

AIa matter of taste

Both have an agent that works in your pages. Aside’s agent runs multi-step tasks in your signed-in sites, signs in from its own password vault without seeing the passwords, and asks before payments, posts and messages. Comet’s assistant answers about pages and open tabs and can click, fill forms and navigate for you, asking before it acts.

Agents like Claude Code and CodexAside leads

Aside can be driven over MCP and a command line, through the aside command line, with aside mcp as its MCP server. Comet has no MCP server or command line for outside agents.

Tabs and windowsAside leads

Aside has tabs down the side, spaces, Split View, folders in the sidebar and tabs that sleep. Comet has Split View, folders in the sidebar and tabs that sleep.

Priceeven

Aside: Free with 500 AI credits a month; Pro $20/month; Max $200/month; or your own ChatGPT or Claude plan. Comet: Free; Comet Plus $5/month; Perplexity Pro $20/month or Max $200/month for more AI and agent use.

Where it runsComet leads

Aside runs on Mac and Windows. Comet runs on Mac, Windows, iPhone and Android. On a Mac, Aside needs macOS 15 or later and Comet needs macOS 13 or later. Aside has no phone app yet: an iPhone app is in the works. Pro runs its agent from Slack or Telegram. On the phone, Comet: iPhone, iPad and Android; on iPhone it syncs bookmarks and history with desktop Comet.

Engine and extensionsa matter of taste

Both are built on Chromium, as Chrome is, so sites work as they do in Chrome. Both take extensions from the Chrome Web Store.

Privacyeven

Both have an ad blocker built in. Aside keeps task transcripts and files on your Mac; model providers get the prompts, page snapshots and screenshots a task needs, and analytics sharing is on by default. Comet keeps history, cookies and passwords on your device unless you sync; the assistant sends the page it needs to Perplexity, kept up to 30 days.

What their pages don’t lead with

Real limits, from the makers’ own words and our own use.

Aside

  • The free plan has 500 AI credits a month; more is Pro at $20 or Max at $200
  • Mac (macOS 15 or later) and Windows only, no phone apps
  • Young: first released in February 2026, on Windows since September 2026
  • Agents may use your saved passwords unless you change the default

Perplexity Comet

  • Free use of the assistant is limited; more agent use is Pro at $20 or Max at $200
  • No MCP server or command line from Perplexity for coding agents
  • Researchers showed prompt-injection attacks on its agent in 2025 (CometJacking)

Yab, honestly

  • Mac only: macOS 15.4 or later, no Windows, iPhone or Android
  • New: first released in September 2026
  • Its AI needs a Claude or ChatGPT plan; ChatGPT’s free plan may work with low limits
  • WebKit, as in Safari: a site tested only in Chrome can misbehave
  • Closed source

What changed lately

  • September 21, 2026Aside: Ad blocking with default filter lists turned on during setup
  • September 14, 2026Aside: Windows version officially available (release 1.0.914.1)
  • August 4, 2026Comet: Ninth Circuit vacated the injunction Amazon won against Comet’s shopping agent
  • March 18, 2026Comet: Comet for iPhone released
  • February 25, 2026Aside: First Aside Browser release for macOS
  • October 2, 2025Comet: Browser made free for everyone worldwide

Questions

Is Aside free?

Yes, with limits on its AI. Free with 500 AI credits a month; Pro $20/month; Max $200/month; or your own ChatGPT or Claude plan.

Is Perplexity Comet free?

Yes, with limits on its AI. Free; Comet Plus $5/month; Perplexity Pro $20/month or Max $200/month for more AI and agent use.

Which has an AI agent, Aside or Comet?

Both. Aside’s agent runs multi-step tasks in your signed-in sites, signs in from its own password vault without seeing the passwords, and asks before payments, posts and messages. Comet’s assistant answers about pages and open tabs and can click, fill forms and navigate for you, asking before it acts.

Do Aside and Comet run on Windows?

Yes, both. Aside runs on Mac and Windows; Comet on Mac, Windows, iPhone and Android.

Do Aside and Comet have phone apps?

Comet does. Aside has no phone app yet: an iPhone app is in the works. Pro runs its agent from Slack or Telegram. On the phone, Comet: iPhone, iPad and Android; on iPhone it syncs bookmarks and history with desktop Comet.

Can I move from Comet to Aside?

Yes: Aside’s own help says it brings in from Comet.

Is there a third option on a Mac?

Yab, Yet Another Browser, is free for the Mac: tabs down the side with spaces, folders and Split View, as in Aside; an agent in your signed-in tabs like Aside’s, on the Claude or ChatGPT plan you already pay for. Claude Code, Codex and any MCP client can drive it too. It runs on WebKit, the engine Safari uses, and takes Chrome extensions. It is Mac only, and new.

More comparisons

Sources, read October 9, 2026. Something out of date? Write to hello@serafimlabs.io and we fix it.

Yab, Yet Another Browser.

Free for the Mac. Arc’s sidebar, your own Claude or ChatGPT as the agent, Chrome extensions on WebKit.